10 NATO Allies Take Further Step to Boost European Air and M
Stay informed with our
free newsletters

This news is classified in: Defense Missiles / Rockets

Oct 12, 2023

10 NATO Allies Take Further Step to Boost European Air and Missile Defence Capabilities

Defence Ministers from 10 NATO Allies came together on Wednesday (11 October 2023) to sign a memorandum of understanding to further develop the European Sky Shield Initiative. Under Germany’s leadership, the initiative aims to bolster European air and missile defence through the joint acquisition of air defence equipment and missiles by European nations. This will strengthen NATO’s integrated air and missile defence.

“European Sky Shield Initiative, under Germany’s leadership, shows the value of Allies stepping up to meet NATO’s requirements, while ensuring interoperability and integration,” said NATO Deputy Secretary General Mircea Geoana. He added: “This initiative therefore, helps translate Allied commitments on defence spending into tangible capabilities available for our collective defence. It demonstrates the clear commitment of European Allies to fair burden sharing as well.”

The European Sky Shield Initiative enables participating nations to jointly procure an air and missile defence system in an efficient and cost-effective way using interoperable, off-the-shelf solutions. This multinational approach offers a flexible and scalable way for nations to strengthen their deterrence and defence.

Missiles - Market and Technology Forecast to 2029

Missiles - Market and Technology Forecast to 2029

Market forecasts by Region, Technology, System, Platform, Component, Guidance System, and End-User. Market and Technology Overview, Opportunity and Scenario Analysis, and Leading Company Profiles

Download free sample pages More information

The 10 NATO Allies participating in the initiative are: Belgium, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands and Slovenia.