Newsletter Subscription


Friday, March 27, 2015


Before the Drop: Engineers Ready Supersonic Decelerator

A saucer-shaped vehicle designed to test interplanetary landing devices hangs on a tower in preparation for launch at the U.S. Navy's Pacific Missile Range Facility in Kauai, Hawaii. The saucer, which is part of NASA's Low-Density Supersonic Decelerator (LDSD) project, will test two devices for landing heavy payloads on Mars: an inflatable tube and an enormous parachute.

The launch tower helps link the vehicle to a balloon; once the balloon floats up, the vehicle is released from the tower and the balloon carries it to high altitudes. The vehicle's rocket takes it to even higher altitudes, to the top of the stratosphere, where the supersonic test begins.


NASA has six potential dates for launch of the high-altitude balloon carrying the LDSD experiment: June 3, 5, 7, 9, 11 and 14. The launch window for each date extends from 7 to 8:30 a.m. HST (10 to 11:30 a.m. PDT and 1 to 2:30 p.m. EDT).

This image was taken during the vehicle's Integrated System Test, an operations rehearsal that engaged all of the teams and systems required for launch and flight, and ran through activities that will be conducted before and during launch, ascent, powered drop and flight.

Your company’s press release on ASDNews and to thousands of other journalists and editors? Use our ASDWire press release distribution service.

Source : NASA

Published on ASDNews: May 22, 2014

 

Mobile MILSATCOM 2015 Conference

Mar 31 - Apr 1, 2015 - London, United Kingdom

Register More info


© 2004-2015 • ASDNews • be the first to know • contact usterms & conditionsprivacy policyadvertisingfaqs

zpsk