Russia launches navigation satellite
Newsletter Subscription


Wednesday, July 30, 2014


Russia launches navigation satellite

MOSCOW - Russia on Monday successfully launched a satellite for its Glonass global navigation system from its Plesetsk cosmodrome, the country's space agency said.

"The Glonass-M spacecraft separated normally from the booster rocket at 15:57 Moscow time (1157 GMT) and was taken under control," the Roskosmos space agency said in a statement.

Related Research on ASDReports.com:
Batteries in China to 2016

The satellite on a Soyuz 2.1B booster rocket blasted off from the northern cosmodrome at 12:25 Moscow time (0825 GMT).

The launch means there are now 23 functioning Glonass satellites in orbit, Roskosmos said. The Glonass system aims to rival the United States' GPS system. In a surprising coup, it is used alongside GPS on the latest iPhone.

Launches of Glonass satellites are being closely followed after three of the craft, which would have completed the system, failed to reach orbit and crashed into the Pacific Ocean in December 2010 because of a problem with the booster rocket.


by Emmanuel Duparcq
© 2011 AFP
Published on ASDNews: Nov 28, 2011

 

Global MilSatCom 2014

Nov 4 - 6, 2014 - London, United Kingdom

Register More info


Global MilSatCom 2014

Nov 4 - 6, 2014 - London, United Kingdom

Register More info


© 2004-2014 • ASDNews • be the first to know • contact usterms & conditionsprivacy policyadvertisingfaqs