Critical Software Achieves Level 5 in CMMI Certification

Company obtains the most prestigious and demanding certification in software engineering quality Portugal, 8th February, 2009 --[ASDWire]-- Critical Software announces that it has achieved CMMI Level 5 Certification (Capability Maturity Model Integrator), being now a member of a prestigious elite of organizations that, at a global scale, have obtained the most demanding, recognized and hard to obtain, quality certification in Software Engineering. Critical Software S.A. as become the first Portuguese company to be able to achieve Level 5 in CMMI, after also being the first Portuguese company to achieve level 3 in March, 2006. With CMMI 5's application, Critical Software aims to strongly augment its productivity, greatly optimizing the processes associated with software engineering, and attain a much higher ability to plan, predict and mitigate risks related with software development. Recent studies show that companies spend, on average, 65% of their software teams' time solving problems, correcting bugs, or redesigning badly designed functionalities; which, in practice, means that only one third of their Information Systems teams' work is actually directed towards conceiving and constructing the solutions their businesses need. "With the CMMI5 model, and by applying six-sigma techniques, Critical Software is working towards delivering software that is 99.9997% bug free and to shorten its development lifecycle. The same model and techniques are used to improve the precision and consistence of our predictions in the development of solutions. This is all our clients want to hear: effectiveness, efficiency and planning!" underlines Goncalo Quadros, CEO of the Portuguese company, adding that "achieving CMMI Level 5 is a historical landmark in the road that Critical has been taking". The CMMI model defines 5 levels of maturity. Some companies, at a worldwide level, have been able to achieve level 3, thus ensuring the homogeneity in practices and "genuine" project management. Nevertheless, to achieve Level 5 "high levels of maturity, grounded in the monitoring of the processes in terms of performance and quality, must be shown. At this level of maturity, all crucial decisions are made based on objective metrics - such metrics reinforce the decisions and permit us to measure, with precision, the degree of risk involved", points out Jose Goncalo Silva, responsible for the Quality Department at Critical Software, adding that "we are ever more dependent on technology, in practically every little step we take in our day-today lives; small flaws in a computer system may have disastrous consequences - today, the reliability and robustness of computer solutions are much more than an important criterion for excellence, they are a necessity!" The CMMI model was developed by the Software Engineering Institute (SEI) of the University of Pittsburgh - an authority and a reference point around the world on the definition and certification of the best practices in software engineering.
Related Research on

World Commercial Avionics - Market Report

Source: Critical Software
Date: Feb 8, 2010